Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
12-29-2013, 11:10 AM - 12 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K3 vs. Df

Comparing a Nikon Df to a Pentax K3 is a little like comparing an apple to an orange, but that’s the point of this post; neither is a *better* camera, each being better at certain things. This isn’t a laboratory controlled pixel peeping review, but simply observations when using my cameras in real life.

I’ve been shooting Pentax for over 30 years, so I instinctively move along with Pentax as their product line evolves, so adding a Nikon body to my bag is a big change (and added expense!). I should mention that I have no intention of leaving Pentax. I still think it’s the best choice for everyday photography along with telephoto work. So why the Nikon? Half of what I shoot is in low light, so there is definitely an allure from having the high ISO performance that full frame offers. Why the Df? I’ve spent decades shooting film, so a film style body packed with the D4 sensor is a natural attraction. The Df currently holds the title of offering the best high ISO performance on the market.

There are also a couple of lenses I have wanted to own and either can’t find them, or they simply are not available for Pentax. I have started off with ordering the Df with its special edition 50/1.8, the Zeiss Apo Sonnar T* 135mm F/2.0 ZF.2 and the Zeiss Distagon 21mm F/2.8 ZF.2. I’ll need to take time to compare landscape work between the 21 and a similar focal length on Pentax, but based on what I am seeing so far, the 21/2.8 would be better matched with the K3.

I took both cameras to Butchart gardens at night with the intent of testing high ISO performance. A quick comment regarding the K5 vs. K3, I’ve taken a number of shots and the K3 seems as good to my eye. All Pentax shots are uing the FA 77 and the Nikon is using the 135. Anyways, I started at ISO 3200;