Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 39 Likes Search this Thread
01-01-2014, 11:15 AM - 5 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

K-3 compares well to D800

Dear Forum Members,

I am a professional photographer who has been shooting Nikon gear since the 1980s. Currently my primary camera is a D800 -- probably the finest camera I have ever owned. On a lark over Christmas vacation I rented the new Pentax K-3 + 60-250mm f/4 from Lens Rentals to see if it could compare to my (rather heavy and bulky) D800 + AF-S 80-400mm VR setup. Well, the short answer is that I am VERY impressed with this new Pentax camera + lens combination. Neither Nikon nor Canon offer anything like it.

I will be writing up a more in-depth review during January, but attached are two test comparison images that demonstrate just how good this camera is in the real world. The "big boys" should be very concerned -- Ricoh/Pentax have a real winner here.

Links to the 9000x5400 pixel images (6Mb each)
More later.

J Michael Sullivan

01-01-2014, 12:26 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I will be interested to see your further conclusions. From the two pictures you posted here, it seems the Nikon setup is slightly sharper at frame centre, and that the Pentax produces some CA off-centre (see the statue on top of the temple and the leftmost two pickets on the white fence). The CA may be more a lens issue though rather than saying anything about the K3.

However, as a general rule, comparing jpegs may say more about default in-camera sharpening and other parameters than what the camera is capable of. Will you be showing some RAWs in your review? Did you use the same amount of sharpening in Photoshop? I would prefer to see results that are not further sharpened out of camera.

Thanks for the comparison.
01-01-2014, 12:39 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter