Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2014, 08:11 PM   #1

K-3 birds: playing with & testing AFC

I do not track wildlife, birds, or any of that sort of action. Photos I may be taking will probably be editorial, travel, and street. I'm a newbie in all of the above subjects.

However, I thought I will get out of my comfort zone, take K-3 out this morning, and track bird in flight for the first time to play. The lens I've used is the 18-135mm WR that came with K-3. So, this is the closest I can get. It was around 8am. So, light has only started to come out. But, for the most part light level is still quite low (hence may have a few motion blur on a few of them), except the sky.

Please forgive the jumpiness of the images. I was just waving the camera around, in some cases going reverse to the bird .

Also, please excuse the blown highlights and lousy post processing in a lot of these images and evaluate the AFC performance only. I'm lazy and just created a Photoshop action to take care of it instead of individually which would take forever.

I think it did reasonably well, though probably none of them are poster worthy . All the images were taken handheld, AFC with high bursts. ISO 100 & f/5.6 @ 135mm. Varying shutter speeds from 1/400 to 1/1000. These are complete bursts. Not one image omitted. Please excuse the lengthy images. Most test sequences I have seen while researching K-3 were short. So, I thought I will post a longer one. The file setting I have used is JPG S. So, buffer write time was reasonable. Raw might take longer.

Hopefully, this serves as a test sample (either good or bad) for the performance of K-3 AFC for people researching into getting or upgrading to a K-3.

Admins & moderators: I assume the number of images are ok since they are external links. If not, please feel free to edit / remove / move them to appropriate location. Thanks.