Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2014, 05:17 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Live View on the K-3

As a DSLR newbie I'm a little confused about "live view". I don't see why I would need it and I've never actually even tried to use it.
I'm just used to looking into the viewfinder to compose a shot and/or focus.
What purposes would "live view" serve in a DSLR?

01-17-2014, 05:19 PM   #2
Banned

Photos: Gallery
Well I like working with liveview when doing portraits. Just the convenience off looking at the big screen. And in no hurry working with a patient model.

(I also like the K-01 mirrorless for that reason)
01-17-2014, 05:20 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by peterjcb Quote
As a DSLR newbie I'm a little confused about "live view". I don't see why I would need it and I've never actually even tried to use it.
I'm just used to looking into the viewfinder to compose a shot and/or focus.
What purposes would "live view" serve in a DSLR?
Comes in really handy for macros and when you want to blow up the image to make sure you've nailed the focus.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-17-2014, 05:26 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Comes in really handy for macros and when you want to blow up the image to make sure you've nailed the focus.
Adam, so when you use "live view" it only lets me snap a shot when I'm in manual focus, is that correct?

01-17-2014, 05:32 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster