Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-20-2014, 07:02 PM   #1

K-3 Wireless Flash Modes

Hello!

I'm new to the forum and could use some help with the wireless flash mode on my new K-3.

What I'm trying to do, is have the camera wirelessly trigger my slave flash without the on camera flash contributing to the exposure. I was able to find a video of how to do this on the K-5 that involved selecting Wireless in the flash menu and then telling the on camera flash not to fire in wireless mode in the customization menu.
From what I can tell from the K-3 manual, this is all done in one step by choosing the Wireless mode called "Controller" in the flash menu. However, I can't seem to get it so that the on camera flash doesn't fire. I have tried both wireless settings (Master and Controller). I have the Sigma EF-610 DG Super external flash. I am new to flash photography, and would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

01-20-2014, 07:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi there.

When you say you don't want the on board flash 'to fire', I assume you realise that it will fire each and every time as a pre-flash? How else can it tell the slave what to do? The pre-flash happens before the shutter starts moving, (in controller mode) but it all happens so fast it is sometimes impossible to tell with mere human senses that there is a delay (short but measurable) between the on board flash sending out it's signal and the shutter/ off board flash operating.

I don't have my K-3 in front of me, but from memory the set up was essentially the same as the K-5. Set the menu setting to 'controller' (does not contribute to the exposure) and set the pop up flash to 'wireless' mode and fire away..

You don't say if the Sigma flash fires or not. I'm assuming it does.

Hope this helps a little
01-20-2014, 07:39 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery