Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 96 Likes Search this Thread
04-13-2015, 09:28 PM   #766
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by PALADIN85020 Quote
I'm not an engineer, but I was told by a confidential but very credible source that occasional out-of-bounds voltage fluctuations in the mirror circuit were causing the mirror flutter. This was fixed by applying a software upgrade (provided by the factory) to a specific control circuit in my camera by the former repair center in Chandler, Arizona. This keeps the mirror control voltage within specific bounds. This is NOT the user-applicable software upgrade, but can only be applied by an authorized repair station to that particular circuit. This was done to my K-3 in June, 2014 and I have had NO further incidents of mirror flap. Previously, from Nov. of 2013 to June of 2014, I had two flapping incidents. Since the software fix, I have had zero problems with my K-3, and I use it constantly. So I think your assertion that this "...is not something which software can ever fix..." is at variance with the facts. Again, my apologies for not being a technical guru - I'm just reporting my experience with this problem.

John

PENTAX : PENTAX Photo Gallery artist page
QuoteOriginally posted by Krusty Surfer Quote
GREAT WORK DEAR WATSON!!!

will Pentax hear you though and fix that mess? a few unhappy k-3 owners it seems could benefit from your knowledge!
thanks for all your hard work on this issue
See above. The fix has been available for some time now, though it is now provided by the Ricon/Pentax service at Precision in Connecticut. Ricoh/Pentax will provide this as a warranty repair service. The service is also available for out-of-warranty cameras, but for a fee.

Steve

04-14-2015, 09:00 AM - 2 Likes   #767

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote