Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
03-23-2014, 04:45 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K3 aggressively underexposes with flash?

I've tried hunting for info, but some of the existing threads were hijacked and went off the rails... I hate to re-hijack.

Anyway, I have a K-3 and am comparing it to my K-5. Works great in most cases.
Where it is a HUGE FAIL, is when using flash.

I take what you might call "product shots' on the side. Nothing pro, just products for a local thrift store raising funds for a animal shelter. But I have been doing this for several years with my K5 and have a setup that gives predictable results 99% of the time using the flash in PTTL mode. Naturally, I get the stray excessive specular highlight (P-TTL's Kryptonite) and have to adjust things once in a while.

But with the K3 (firmware updated to 1.03), I have a success rate of about 10% or less!!
I see similar behavior with and without specular highlights.
I have to jack up the exposure compensation 3-4 full stops to get a decent image. Its just crazy!

I have a af540fgz attached. I've used full power as well as -1.5 stops of power (P-TTL mode).
The camera is in AV mode at ISO 100 and f/3.5.

I can't figure out what is going on.
I can see and hear that the flash output is greatly diminished with the K3 so that is the obvious reason for the underexposure, but I can't figure out what the camera thinks it is seeing.

One thing I noticed is that with the K5, the EXIF data shows data values in the 9 - 12 range for "Flash Metering Segments".
The K3 on the other hand is showing all 0's!! WTF?

Is my new K3 broken?

You can see the DNG files here;
test_K3.DNG
test_K5.DNG

---------- Post added 03-23-14 at 07:54 PM ----------

Oh, important info.... the flash head is pinter straight up with a large reflector -- somewhat like the Rouge Flashbender.