Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
03-25-2014, 08:36 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K3 - recommended for shooting events?

Hi everyone,

I posted this question earlier on K5 forum but since my question is about K3, i will post it here again.

I'm using K5 and I shoot landscapes, lately more on outdoor portraits and strobist works. So far, it had been a perfect camera for me but just recently I started shooting weddings and events as a second shooter and I find focus speed on this camera to be very limiting .
I am a hobbyist and the K5 is my first and only camera so far but I am considering to buy K3 if I will shoot more weddings and events (more so if professionally).

If there are event shooters here using K3, can you give me a general idea on what's the focus speed and P-TTL like on this new camera? Many reviews say this two areas had been vastly improved but I would like to hear a few words from real world shooters. Do you find it sufficient to get the job done and worth an upgrade from K5? Or is it still not yet sufficient? I am not demanding for Nikon grade TTL system or Canon grade focus speeds but just whether if it is now good enough to get the job done without missing the shots all the time.

Please share with me some of your user review/experience with K3.

03-25-2014, 08:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-3 is a big improvement over K-5 in many ways. I think AF speed is improved but nothing dramatic. But AF speed is also related to the lens used. You might consider looking at a different lens if the AF speed is too slow.
03-25-2014, 09:04 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM if you really want speed AF and F2.8, if your budget and arms can take the strain.
03-25-2014, 09:25 AM   #4
Unregistered User

The AF speed and accuracy in low light has been greatly improved. Where the K-5 hunts the K-3 hits the target.

03-25-2014, 10:45 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter