Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2014, 11:22 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
List of known problems in K3 ?

I am new to Pentax. I just bought a K3, will be delivered in a few days.
Have used Nikon, Sony, Panasonic and Olympus before.
Does anyone have a comprehensive list of things I should test for to look if my copy has known issues?
I am sure it will have some, so its a question of having to live with some and fix others with available firmware if any.

03-26-2014, 11:28 AM - 1 Like   #2
Banned

Photos: Gallery
Just enjoy it and don't spend time looking for ghosts.
03-26-2014, 11:46 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Do what all good consumers should do...Give your camera's features a thorough workout shortly after you take delivery. Do so for both the features you intend on using and for those that you do not. Doing so has the dual benefit of helping you best learn how you want to use your camera and also what defects might be present. It is better to find the problems sooner rather than later. Don't waste your time trying to ferret out previously reported issues unless the conditions to reproduce are well established. To the best of my knowledge there is only one such case...the failure of manual mode metering when using non-A contact lenses having a non-conductive base. It is reasonable to assume that your camera will have that behavior.

If you have a problem, post it on this site and also contact Ricoh/Pentax support to see if the issue is real and/or might be grounds for an immediate replacement from your dealer.

Steve
03-26-2014, 01:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member

One thing I have heard of is the electronic level being severely out of calibration, to the point of making it useless. It is by no means something common, just heard of two or three cases, but worth checking just in case.

03-26-2014, 01:34 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter