Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2014, 04:15 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax K-3 Bizarre 'frying' noise

Hi

I have recently purchased a K-3 camera 3 months ago. It has developed a fault. I only noticed it tonight while trying out some live view shooting in a quiet space.

Once the camera is put into video mode or live view, there is a strange hissing / crackling sound coming from inside the camera! It is very annoying and is the kind of thing as an audio engineer I have head when an electronic component is faulty. It really is quite loud and sounds like the noise one hears if one puts a shell or cup to ones ear. The noise is there if the audio on the camera is up or down

Hopefully Pentax uk will have decent customer service as I think this K-3 will have to go back. Such a pity as the camera takes smashing photos

06-25-2014, 04:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I think that sound is the shake reduction system holding the sensor in place. My K-r and K-5 make similar sounds during live view.

You don't hear the sound during stills because the SR only works for a moment during stills. In live view the SR system stays on the entire time.
06-25-2014, 04:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Does sounds like it's the SR. It's not very loud on the K3 but you can surely hear it. Just try to turn OFF Shake Reduction and see if it still makes the noise.
06-25-2014, 04:29 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by wahee Quote
Hi

I have recently purchased a K-3 camera 3 months ago. It has developed a fault. I only noticed it tonight while trying out some live view shooting in a quiet space.