Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-22-2014, 10:34 AM   #1

Doubting about the Pentax K3, just a few questions

Hey Guys and Girls, i'm new to this forum

I'm mainly a portrait photographer using Canon (6D, 70D, 1200D) and I will continue using canon.
However i'd really like to get a K3 for it's weather durability, nice primes and focus peaking (and some other features)

I do have a couple of concerns...
My biggest being the slow write time of raw files (single shot)
You see, i often take a shot and check on screen how the lighting is and if the photos is sharp.
This goes near instant with canon RAW (even on the cheap 1200D)... I've been reading that on the K3 (and K5 II) this might take up to 15 seconds to preview an image after it has been shot (even when using a fast card)

Is this so ?

Also, does the selected focus point light up with the K3 ?
And how are the skin tones ?

many thanks !!

09-22-2014, 10:48 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Photographykn Quote
I've been reading that on the K3 (and K5 II) this might take up to 15 seconds to preview an image after it has been shot (even when using a fast card)
OMG where did you read that?? The k-3 is as close to instant as I've ever seen. One of the huge improvements over k-5 (which was not a slouch) is the general responsiveness, to button presses, write times and so on. Whole new processor on board from the k-5. That said, k-5 or k-5II never had a 15 second delay. Never. 2 or 3, maybe.
Also, does the selected focus point light up with the K3 ?
Yes they do.
And how are the skin tones ?
Good as far as I'm concerned, though with RAW isn't that more of a PP issue? Anyway, I'm happy with skin tones as long as the WB is correct. AWB is about the best I've ever used but even so I like to do set it manually in the studio. Outside or when not using studio lights AWB is usually right on.