Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-03-2014, 11:06 PM   #1

Just got my K-3. Two questions for you guys please

Hi all,

Okay, so, I'm a total newb. Just stepping up from a point and shoot. So, ignorance aside.. opened my K-3 package, my lens, attached them, read from the rather daunting manual for a while, and took some pics (after inserting my charged battery and new recommended high speed memory card).

Question 1: after taking several pics and viewing them on the LCD screen, I set the camera down on the table in front of me. When I picked it up after a minute or so, the screen was frozen. I couldn't even turn off the camera. Eventually, I had to remove the battery. After replacing the battery, all was well. Is this normal? I'm a little freaked, as it's brand new. I read some reviews from people who experienced weird freezing issues as well as mirror flapping. Really really hoping this isn't an indicator of things to come...

Question 2: good God, the manual is dense. Looking forward to getting to the point where I can begin playing with Aperture and Shutter Speed and take pictures. How did other newbies penetrate the amazing amount of info conveyed in this manual? I get that I jumped into a whole new level of camera, but wow, this will take a while... any good vids to help ease the transition?

Thanks all :-) Love this forum so far.

11-03-2014, 11:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Before we can answer your first question, do you know if you're updated to the latest firmware?

And as for the second, I would recommend using the manual more as a reference guide. If you know about proper exposure (ie. ISO, shutter speed, and aperture), then just go out and shoot. You'll get the hang of it.
11-03-2014, 11:22 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bsamcash Quote
Before we can answer your first question, do you know if you're updated to the latest firmware?