Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2014, 07:57 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Exposure compensation

Hi all,

I have a question regarding exposure compensation. I have never used this on regular basis and I do not understand what is going on.

If I am using manual Mode the EV changes by itself.
If I am using the TAv Mode and take a picture with EV +5 it will be the same as one with EV -5 (leaving all the other setting the same)

What do I have to do if I want to take let's say a darker picture with some give settings (aperture, shutter speed and ISO). Wouldn't a -5EV suffice?

I know there is nothing wrong with the camera and it is me so any explanation would be appreciated. Yes, I am a noob.

s

11-04-2014, 08:17 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In Manual mode it shows you if your will be over or under exposing the image. Manual does not have compensation. TAv is like manual mode but with autoiso so depending on how you have set your autoiso limits, shutter speed and aperture you may come to a setting where you hit a ISO limit and the ISO number starts blinking. If so the exposure will be the same
11-04-2014, 08:19 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

The difference between -5 and +5 EV should be night and day.
In Manual mode, exposure compensation just changes where Zero is on the meter.
In TAv mode, the only thing the camera can adjust is ISO. If you compensate -5 in daylight and the camera can't adjust ISO any lower than 100, you won't see much difference.
11-04-2014, 08:24 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Ok, makes sense. Thanks Tjompen1968 and AquaDome. I was forcing the ISO to be the same (100-125) to see if EV would do anything in TAv but if it works as in Manual that explains the results.

So going back to the other question, I cannot leave all settings the same and play only with EV to make an image darker/brighter?

11-04-2014, 08:31 AM   #5
Forum Member