Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2014, 09:12 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Post Processing....DXO + ????

Im rather new ....well...... I am new to using Post processing in many ways. (not much experience)
Using Silkypics now , and have used some Canon software but not too impressed with either.
Stumbled on DXO and got excited !
Decided Im going to give it serious consideration in either stand alone or as a Plugin probably to Lightroom or Photoshop.

Im a bit confused though as to which version of DXO to get as it looks like one version is Supporting Raw in either mode and one is only supporting Raw in stand alone. Did I get that right ?

Ive pretty much decided DXO is a must for me ! But Im undecided as far as what else I should go with ? ... LR ?... PS ?

Then there are various versions of each and I even see there appears to be a third version of DXO now too ?

What should I get ? Would preffer using only one complete package , but it doesnt look like thats a real possibility to get the full benefit of Post processing and DXO combined ?

My ambitions lean towards Landscapes , travel and Macro..... with bits of everything else thrown in here and there. I want good sharpening and NR available plus all the filter and correction effects.
Im using RAW / DNG........and just as learning the K3 , guess Im needing to learn a bunch about the above.

I dont want to waste any $$$ in the process for something I dont really end up needing even though I have high ambitions now.
Neither do I want to purchase something and find out later I actually needed something more advanced and have to re purchase a better version or higher priced Package.

I also love old glass ! I love the effects of Film long past....Ilford , agfa , sensia , and Kodachrome.....DXO is a MUST have for me ! Its the rest of the puzzle I need help in deciding.