Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
12-17-2014, 09:08 PM   #1

pentax green stobe. CONFUSED?

Have a new K3
Lot to learn yes
Know enough to shoot in manual or auto.
But am overwhelmed with so many options.
My question is I shoot a lot of Dog Shows with fast moving dogs
Am pleased with most of my results. But as I am very new to this camera and have
Lot to learn. I have no problem in normal light. But when I get in low light conditions the camera
Shoots this green beam at subject. I'm sure its a sensing probe of some kind.
But the problem is I take pictures of live moving dogs at dog shows and whet shoots this
Beam out it shines it in the dogs eyes and it startles the dog's.
I almost caused Laos at a show when the dog almost freaked cause of this light beam.
What is this beams purpose?
Is it possible to shoot in low light without this light coming on?
How do I shoot without this light coming on?
Does this light only come on in certain modes?
Or does it come on in all modes in low light conditions?
Or is there other modes that don't use this green light?
Any help would most appreciated.
I bought this camera specifically for dog shows cause of its fast
Shutter speeds. If this green probe light comes on in all low light
Conditions the camera is of no use to me for dog showing.
Hope there's a solution as I love this camera. Thanks Ed

12-17-2014, 09:14 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

It's called the AF Assist Beam, and you can turn it off.

Press the Menu button on the back of the camera > Rec Mode [Little Red camera icon] tab 1 > AF Assist Light > Off.

Time to read the manual
12-17-2014, 09:27 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
And without the af assist the autofocus is less reliable in low light.
12-17-2014, 09:43 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I would suggest a flash for that application, but maybe that is not possible if the dogs react badly.