Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2014, 06:32 PM   #1

Can you top off a K-3 battery?

I searched for this topic but did not find anything...I have Pentax batteries for my K-3. If they are not completely discharged can I top them off to fully charge them or will I be lessening the life of the battery?
Thanks

12-28-2014, 06:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Current rechargeable battery tech does not require complete drain.
Charge them any time you want. I always charge them regardless of how drained they are before I go out for a day's shooting.
12-28-2014, 06:57 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I've been doing that with my K10d since December 2006 and the batteries still hold a good charge. Same with k7 and k3. I think the older NiCad batteries required draining, but these are Lithium Ion. Ideally, they should be charged to less than 80% for storage, but I don't think that would make much more than a small percent in longevity over many years of use.
12-28-2014, 07:15 PM   #4

i've seen conflicting/inconclusive reports/opinions regarding topping off. while it's true that lithium ions don't suffer from memory effect like nicads, some people will say that continually topping off from ~85%(?) - 100% will decrease the longevity of the battery. it's the top couple of percent that's tricky to keep charging over and over again. any sort of discharge/recharge cycle is a cycle, and it's the # of cycles that matters. if you look at the curves when a battery is charged, it's usually pretty fast from 0-85% and slows down for the last ~15%.