Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-09-2015, 08:35 AM   #1

Is there a SIMPLE RAW processing program?

I'm a lifetime photographer of over 60 years, but apparently have always been lazy. Never wanted to do my own developing and never had much interest in RAW processing,.....until now.

I really, really like my Pentax K50 and K3. They are the most fun cameras I've ever used. If the video was decent, I'd sell everything else I own. But, to the point, based on recommendations of forum members, I began shooting RAW when I found that was the only way I could get a really good sunrise shot. I got great results processing in camera and good results with Faststone, not only on sunrises but almost everything. . Faststone, however, won't allow changing AWB, at least as far as I can tell.

I'd like to find another RAW processor. It certainly doesn't have to be free, but it has to be fast and allow batch processing. Anything complicated will not hold my interest very long. Suggestions?

Thanks for the helpful input that I know I'll get.

Jack

03-09-2015, 08:40 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Lightroom is probably the most user-friendly, and more so because it is the most popular by far so it is easy to find tutorials, answers, books, etc about it. But first, you might want to just play around with the Pentax-provided software that came with your camera...
03-09-2015, 08:44 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What are you using for archiving and cataloging? I would say Lightroom would be the best choice but if you only need RAW processing and not all the other functions there might be other options.

Lightroom is a full workflow program, not just RAW processing. But it is arguably one of the best at RAW processing and simple to use. Although, there is a lot under the hood that you can keep learning if you want.