Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-09-2015, 10:39 AM - 1 Like   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
My 2 cents favors LR for organizing, cropping, exposure adjustment in both RAW and JPG. I like to organize my pics, and find Ligthroom and Elements do that really well.

If I want to get more in depth, I am dabbling with GIMP, which is free. I transfer the RAW to a TIFF format, modify and resave it back the same directory it came from in LR, with a modified file name, and then recatalogue it in LR.

I used to design machinery for a living, and always said there are 50 ways to design something, 2 or 3 are really good, the rest will likely work, to varying degrees.

Personal preference comes into play with software.

03-09-2015, 10:41 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by lsimpkins Quote
If you didn't like developing or printing from film, I wonder why you would want to step into the Raw side of the digital realm
Raw developing can be done in comfort and it's relatively easy to 'do' a days shooting in an evening, film developing and printing was done in the dark with smelly chemicals and half a dozen prints in a night was good going.
LR is quite easy to learn the basics and then can become quite addictive as you learn more and more, and you can try it free for thirty days
03-09-2015, 11:05 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Most commercial RAW software will have some feature for batch processing. I haven't tried one that doesn't. That being said, I think the bigger commercial ones tend to be the easiest to use. Lightroom is probably the most intuitive, and I'd recommend it over most because of that. However, DxO, CaptureOne, and Silkypix Pro all hold their own with fairly easy workflows as well. While Lightroom is perhaps easiest, I find the other three can provide better results. CaptureOne also has a catalog feature which could be useful.