Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-27-2015, 06:15 PM   #1

Questions re: K-3 II pixel shift and Astrotracer

As a landscape photographer with a particular interest in astrophotography who was soon going to be upgrading from the K-5 to the K-3, I'm obviously excited about the new option of getting a K-3 II instead. With that said, I do have some questions for more knowledgeable people because I've never used the existing astrotracer and don't completely understand how the pixel shift technology works. So here goes.

1) My understanding of the pixel shift, from what I've read, is that it's best/only useable for shots of still objects. No action shots. So my question then is what is considered a still object. As a landscape photographer, I take pictures of waterfalls, scenes with plenty of open sky, and the stars at night. In each case, I could see how what I'm shooting may not be considered a still object for purposes of utilizing the pixel shift technology. To get the soft blur on a waterfall, I take long exposure shots and obviously the water is moving. Would pixel shift work for this? The water is moving, but I'm only capturing the blur of it, not the movement, so I'm hoping this would work. With blue skies, the clouds are moving. Would this only work for non-long exposure shots? And for shooting stars, I typically take approximately 30-second shots to get enough light, but of course the stars are moving through the sky. Would the pixel shift work in this case? Perhaps in this case, if you're using the astrotracer, the stars are technically NOT moving because the sensor is tracking their movement, so you could combine the astrotracer and the pixel shift technology for outstanding star photos.