Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-30-2015, 11:48 AM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

New K-3 (from K-r)

Just upgraded to anew K-3 after using a K-r for about 3 years. The K-3 was my first DSLR, but not my first Pentax SLR. I've been using Pentax cameras for 30 years. Being my first digital camera, I chose the K-r due to a special deal Amazon had way back then. I wasn't at all sure about how I would like shooting without film, lol.

After a year of learning how to get the results I wanted, I really took to the K-r and bought several prime lenses for the camera. Eventually, I think I just outgrew it. I wanted the dual edials of the K-3 (that actually work!), and 24MP is quite a jump from 12MP. The additional exposure modes/options are very nice and make it much easier to quickly get what I want without too much thought. The K-r was more work due to the limitations baked into the camera: a) limited exposure modes, b) no HDR or filters for RAW images.

Anyway, just a "how do you do" from a longtime Pentaxian and new K-3 owner.

Regards,
Dan

04-30-2015, 12:14 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome!
04-30-2015, 12:32 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Yes, its a huge difference to the K-r, I'm always shocked when i have to help my girlfriend out in it's configuration or when I take a snap to proof that it is possible. :-)
The biggest plus on the K-7/5/3 is the layout, dual dial, iso-button, etc., etc.

Great you made the jump, I'm sure you will not regret it, the K-3 is much better camera in all regards.
04-30-2015, 12:36 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome! The K-r is a nice camera, but the K-3 is a great jump! Congratulations and enjoy your stay, I think you'll fit right in. Lots of users here started with Pentax SLRs, and many still use various older lenses on their new DSLRs. This is another advantage of Pentax DSLRs - they have great compatibility with older lenses

04-30-2015, 05:04 PM   #5