Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2015, 08:57 AM   #1

Anyone else waiting for feedback on the 70-200 2.8?

I am a Pentax newbie. I recently got the K-50 and just ordered the K-3, due in no small part to the handling and performance of the K-50. I would really like to use the K-3 for action and sports shooting, but I am not sold on the 60-250 for this mainly because of the "slow to focus" comments. I really don't mind spending the money on the FA 70-200 if the results are there for this kind of shooting. I really don't plan on going FF in the future. I know, famous last words. But, have been down that road some, and for a hobbyist, even an avid one, I really didn't see the value except at super high ISO.

Secondly, does Pentax charge the early adopter tax like everyone else? If I wait a while will the price come down? Thanks

05-12-2015, 09:16 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I'm awaiting the reviews on the D-FA* 70-200 from the early adopters as well. From the images I've from the D-FA 150-450 (which is not a * rated lens) I cannot even imagine how the engineers could improve the performance on the 70-200/f2.8 model. That said, it's an expensive piece of glass for my amateurish usage, I don't expect to sell my Sigma 70-200 HSM II anytime soon. The true test would be to compare the D-FA* zoom at 200 with the DA* 200/f2.8, one of the sharpest (non-macro) primes out there, if it matches even 90% of the prime's IQ its going to be another masterpiece.
05-12-2015, 09:32 AM   #3
Pentaxian

There's always the option of getting the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 for $769.
05-12-2015, 10:02 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by disconnekt Quote
There's always the option of getting the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 for $769.
Or better yet, a DIY 70-200/f2.8 zoom made of bottle glass and paper machete.

We don't want cheap Chinese knock-offs (I don't care how sharp the Tamron is at 200mm), we want the real thing!!