Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-14-2015, 03:33 AM   #1

Hello from a New Pentax K-3 Owner + Some Questions

Hi,

Thought I'd re-introduce myself having just bought the following: Pentax K-3 ($718 new from Amazon) + Tamron 17-50 2.8 ($195 like new from ebay) + Sigma APO 70-300 Macro ($145 used like new from Amazon). Ideally, I would have bought a faster/longer lens for BIF (such as the Sigma 120-400), but I was on a really tight budget. Maybe in the future...

Strangely, when I selected the Sigma lens on Amazon, this was displayed:

Anyone know why? I assumed it was a glitch so I went ahead and ordered it anyway. In fact, according to Amazon ONLY Pentax lenses are compatible with Pentax cameras (which everyone know is not true)!

In the past I owned both the K-30 and K5IIs, so I'm not a Pentax newbie. In recent years, I've been trying out different brands (last camera was a Sony A77II), but I've concluded that it's time to come home

Couple of questions for fellow K-3 owners:

1. What are the ideal settings for BIF/fast (and erratic) moving action?
2. The DP review claimed that default JPEG sharpening "a little clumsy" and color rendition was a bit off - any advice on that?
3. Any useful tips and tricks?

The DP review also claimed that you need a really fast focusing lens to take advantage of the AF system. I found that statement rather odd, since this is true of most if not all prosumer DSLRs. Did I misunderstand?

TIA for your time,

Elchanan

Last edited by Charlie70; 05-14-2015 at 06:19 AM.
05-14-2015, 05:29 AM   #2
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Charlie70 Quote
Hi,