Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2015, 01:14 PM   #1

I tried to support my local camera store...

Hi All:

I'm a relatively new photographer who picked up a K-3 a couple of months ago, and have been having lots of fun with it. I managed to get some what I presume is pollen on the sensor--it's been an insane season for it around here. So I tried the Pentax OCK dust remover--no luck. It just wouldn't grab the stuff, which appeared to be welded on.

I went to our local high-end camera store, which has been in business for decades, and is well regarded. I asked about purchasing a wet cleaning kit. They said that no, they wouldn't sell them to consumers but would be happy to charge me $60+ for their service people to clean the sensor.

As someone who REALLY likes to do his own maintenance on everything, I said "No thanks", and bought a wet kit from Amazon, which arrived this morning. ( On Memorial Day even--how does that happen? )

Five minutes with the kit, and the unholy mess that was my sensor is now pristine--not a spec of the grunge to be found anywhere even at F32 sky shots.

So anyhow, is this kind of attitude common among camera stores? i.e. Do they really refuse to sell basic cleaning supplies?

05-25-2015, 01:21 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some, but not all. It depends on the shop.

Just an aside, Pentax sells the extended warranty for $19.95 that adds an additional 2 years on to their basic warranty, along with a free cleaning and check up. It's the best deal around - (K20 - noisy sensor replacement, along with all the body's guts; K5 - mirror motor replacement, since it was depleting batteries in 50 shots).

05-25-2015, 01:32 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by interested_observer Quote
Some, but not all. It depends on the shop.