Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2015, 12:42 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Recently Bought K-3 Premium Edition + SMC 18-270mm

I am new in Pentax. Recently bought Pentax K-3 Silver Premium Edition along with the following items:

- Pentax K-3 Silver Premium Special Edition (Only 1500 Units Manufactured Globally)
- Pentax 18-270mm SMC
- Dolice L.A. Camera Bag
- Eye-fi Mobi Pro 32GB (Wifi Tech Card_
- 64 GB SDXC Card
- Flex DSLR screen protector
- U.S.A Gear DSLR Handgrip
- Wasabi 2X Pentax Batteries with Car Charger
- JVC 18-300mm lens pouch

Yesterday 1st testing shots:

I need some help regarding settings.

I need settings for Aviation Photography and Portrait Photography. Can anyone suggest me settings for 18-270mm (Portrait & Sports/Aviation) ?

Thanks, Waleed

07-09-2015, 05:13 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 18-270mm is what we call a superzoom lens- it can be used for everything, but it isn't optimal for any one type of photography. Your basic shooting technique is therefore really going to be the most important factor in overcoming the limitations of the lens. Ultimately, though, I would strongly recommend expanding your kit.

For portraiture you'd ideally want a standard or short telephoto lens with a fast aperture, such as the 50mm F1.8 (very affordable) or 55mm F1.4 (premium). If you want to use the 18-270mm, keep it in the 35mm to 70mm focal length range, be as close to your subject as possible, and shoot wide-open. The 18-270mm has fairly prominent distortion at its longer zoom settings, so these should be avoided when taking portraits.