Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2015, 06:39 PM   #31

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by boriscleto Quote
Anyone can be a professional bullshi**er too.

07-21-2015, 07:35 PM - 2 Likes   #32
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jkomp316 Quote
The only thing I'm a pro at is procrastination.
07-22-2015, 03:13 AM - 1 Like   #33
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by starbase218 Quote
That's one way to read it.

---------- Post added 07-21-2015 at 07:08 PM ----------

Still, when Canikon can focus, it probably focuses faster than Pentax in low light.

And astrotracer? I never use it. It may be a great technical achievement, but it's also a niche.

Not saying Canikon is better or anything. Just saying he can have an opinion. And if he finds another brand more refined for the way he uses the camera (I think that's what he's saying), why is that a problem?
A K3 focuses as fast as Canon/Nikon in AF-S mode. It is in AF-C mode that it struggles. On the other hand, Phil is right that the K3 and K5 II are designed to focus in lower light than most Canon/Nikon APS-C models available can focus in. It is pretty amazing how they grab focus when it is virtually dark.

The whole astro tracer thing is a red herring. It is that fact that Pentax has chosen to have in body image stabilization that a lot of Pentax's stand out features happen. Besides the fact that you can have a stabilized 50mm f1.2 ancient prime, you have the ability to shift the sensor, allow the camera to straighten your photos, and use an astro tracer. These are things that Canon/Nikon camera can't/don't do. As to whether or not you use any of them, I don't know, but it is nice to have them.