Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2015, 04:18 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Pentax K3 lenses

Dear everyone,

My first thread here in the pentax forum. I have been reading and following few threads in this forum and everyones response, suggestions and advice has been very genuine and hence I thought I could get some advice for me.

Just a short intro about me...

I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR photography but I always wanted to learn and enjoy. Sadly I didnt put enough efforts into it. Day before yesterday was my birthday and my girlfriend suddenly told me that she was buying me a DSLR camera and she fixed her mind on the Canon 70D. When it comes to buying things especially technology I always do a lot of research and thats when I came across Pentax K3. I found pentax K3 to be a better option than Canon 70D and hence the next day we bought a Pentax K3...Im so happy that I finally have a DSLR in my hands. It came with a kit lens 18-55mm WR.

I now would like to add a good lens to this. My girlfriend does play a lot of badmintion tournaments and hence would be pleased and benefitted if you guys could advice me on buying a good lens for sports photography.

I am bit tight on budget at the moment and hence can't afford very expensive lenses. I was initially thinking of buying a prime lens Pentax 50mm f/1.8 SMC DA Lens and Tamron AF 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 for Pentax (A17). I have a budget of £200 and I can get these both within that. But is this a good buy or should I invest £200 in a single better lens? Hope you guys could kindly advice me. I dont mind buying second lenses too.

I would mainly shoot sports (badminton) and wildlife (birds, squirrels, pets) etc. I do also like macro.

any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Tikku

09-20-2015, 05:02 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What distance will you be from the action in general.