Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2015, 01:38 PM   #1

Multi-exposure blending modes

I'm fairly new to in-camera multi-exposures and enjoyed a session out and about with a Canon-wielding friend on Sunday making some ME images. I now find I have a few questions.

1. My K3 has Bright, Average and Additive blending modes, which offers a lot of creative flexibility, but not Dark mode, as offered by the Canon DSLR. This chooses dark pixels over lighter pixels, the reverse of the Bright mode. It allowed my friend even more scope and would seem to be an obvious complement of the Bright mode. I wonder why the K3 does not have it and whether it is likely to be added by a firmware update?

2. In Bright mode, are the relative luminance values compared for each channel - RGB - or just for the composite?

3. The Canon DSLR allowed my friend the option of retaining each individual shot which went into making up the final ME image. The K3 does not seem to offer this. Is that right, or have I not found the right menu option?

Many thanks in advance for any answers.

10-20-2015, 01:47 PM - 1 Like   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Off the top of my head, I think you can retain each image by clicking the "save" option on the set up screen.
10-20-2015, 06:03 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by hajr12 Quote
2. In Bright mode, are the relative luminance values compared for each channel - RGB - or just for the composite?
I would say for the composite.

However the K-3 manual is, unfortunately, very brief when describing how the multi-exposure options work. But the Pentax web site offers some more info about what ME does for each mode:

K-3 Multi-exposure

Average