Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2016, 03:49 PM   #1

non Pentax battery grip?

anyone using a non pentax battery grip for their K3?

if so what brand?

03-15-2016, 08:29 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jc723 Quote
anyone using a non pentax battery grip for their K3?

if so what brand?
I had a great experience with the knockoff grip for my K5 and it served me well for several years.

That said the Pentax official grip for the k-3 is priced much lower then for previous models and is well worth the purchase. The quality is outstanding
03-15-2016, 11:16 PM   #3

I've been shooting a K-3 for about 6 months now and am wondering why you guys want a grip on them. I can't see battery life being worth it the battery in mine is good for all day and 2000 shots easy. I don't even see the need to have a second battery so what is the advantage to having a grip on the camera?
03-16-2016, 12:21 AM   #4
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by charchri4 Quote
I've been shooting a K-3 for about 6 months now and am wondering why you guys want a grip on them. I can't see battery life being worth it the battery in mine is good for all day and 2000 shots easy. I don't even see the need to have a second battery so what is the advantage to having a grip on the camera?
You're getting 2000 shots from one battery? That's very, very unusual. Ricoh lists the K3 as having battery life of around 720 shots without flash or 560 with 50% flash usage. Of course, if you frequently use LiveView rather than the viewfinder, this drops quite considerably, and same with video.

Anyway, the reasons I use a grip on both my K3 and K3II are:

- camera balances better, especially with heavier / longer lenses (faster zooms and tele primes tend to be quite chunky and heavy)
- there is more to grip - all fingers of your hand have something to hold, and it generally feels nicer to use (to me, at least)