Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-23-2016, 11:16 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Lens for wedding

My daughter is getting married tomorrow. I have no experience as a wedding photographer, and I won't be the official photographer, just one of the amateur photographers. Don't know if there will actually be an official photographer. I plan to take my K3ii with a small Metz flash that will bounce. I would prefer to not have to change lenses at all either during the wedding or the reception. I could use my DA 18-135mm, but I was thinking maybe my FA 31mm f1.9?

Suggestions? I also have the DA 15mm Ltd, the DA 55-300mm, and a Sigma 105mm Macro f2.8. Bu my experience with the latter is very sharp but a slow focuser.

Thanks, John

PS: It will be a strange affair. My daughter is gay and is having a Day of the Dead theme for the wedding.

Last edited by Johnontheroad; 06-24-2016 at 04:36 AM.
06-23-2016, 11:23 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just a thought, but might it not be better to leave the camera behind and just be in the moment?

We can take photos any day, but most of us don't get to be father of the bride very often
06-23-2016, 11:31 PM   #3
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Johnontheroad Quote
Suggestions?

Firstly John, congratulations are in order for yourself and your daughter. I see you have a K-3II. Personally, I would take the magical 31 Limited and the 18-135 for a bit of reach. Some candid shots of people unaware a camera is present are always fun. I have been to quite a few weddings where the " pro " took lots of shots of the wedded couple, but forgot to get many of the guests. Have a great day.

EDIT - What Sandy said makes sense too !!!
06-23-2016, 11:33 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter