Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2016, 03:13 AM   #1

Pentax K3

Hi there!,

New to the forum and new to DSLR photography in general. I've always been an avid fan of photography but found it to be quite an expensive hobby to get into, nonetheless, our local electronics store was trying to clear their inventory of Pentax products, and since my dad was a Pentax shooter back in the day and he had a few nice lenses, I finally decided to pull the trigger on a Pentax K3 which I got, brand-new, with a 50-200mm f4.5-5.6 lens for $369.99.

I've been using it for 8 months now and to be honest, I am not getting the results I was expecting. I understand that a photo is as good as the person taking it and I believe that has been the case 90% of the time but I am not getting the sharpness (like the Canon 60/70D & Nikon D7xxx series) out the images that I was expecting from a mid-range semi-pro camera, it might be something to do with the setting perhaps? If so, then can somebody guide me? The lenses I use are the following;

1. Pentax SMC Pentax DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED WR
2. SMC Pentax-M 50mm F1.4
3. Soligor 24mm f2.5
4. SMC Pentax-M 28mm F2.8

Moreover, as soon as I take a photo, in the preview there seems to be some sort of pattern imprinted on the photo, which can be seen briefly in the gallery but then it disappears. Any idea why this happens? Is it normal? Is my camera faulty?

Lastly, can you guys list down a selection of lenses for the K3? Lenses that are under 80mm focal length and under F3.5 aperture.

Apologies in advance, if my post seems dumb, I am just a beginner.

I'd appreciate any help that I can get. Thanks!

11-01-2016, 03:24 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums