Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2017, 08:07 PM   #1

What is the difference in the focus point selection? K-3

I thought I knew my K-3 pretty well .
I use to generally use a center spot for focus then recompose, but recently I decided to use rear button focus and disable focus with the shutter button.
While getting use to this method I found myself scrolling through the focus point selection and noticed the white points under "Auto" and when scrolling I get the same selection option but the points are in red .
I checked the manual but cant figure out what is the difference.
Help !

Bob

01-15-2017, 08:40 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have been using my K-3 since Spring of 2014 and know it pretty well. Like you, I generally use center spot. I am not sure what you mean by "white points under "Auto". Are you, by any chance describing live view AF point selection rather than regular viewfinder AF point selection? Auto in Live View provides a movable frame that may be positioned as desired within the frame. Live view uses a different AF system (Contrast Detect AF) with different setup that the Phase Detect AF system used by the optical viewfinder. The setup is similar, but not the same and changes made on one system do not migrate to the other.

Steve
01-16-2017, 02:15 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
On the K1 at least the red points signify tracking AF mode to be used with AFC
01-16-2017, 03:15 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by photobobhunt Quote
While getting use to this method I found myself scrolling through the focus point selection and noticed the white points under "Auto" and when scrolling I get the same selection option but the points are in red .
Interesting, I'll check my K3 when I'm home, I thought I knew my K3 pretty well too (never finished the manual )

01-16-2017, 04:10 PM - 2 Likes   #5
Loyal Site Supporter