Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2017, 08:18 PM   #1

Best autofocus mode to use with high-speed continuous shooting?

Friends!

I need some advice. I do a lot of action photography (specifically of horses), and I've been struggling finding the best autofocus mode with the K-3. I took several shots today at a 1/400 shutter speed (bright sunny day, so light was not an issue) and a lot of them are just slightly out of focus. I usually depend on the camera to tell me when things are in focus as I have eye issues and can't generally focus on things far away anyway (I'm horribly nearsighted and have a slight astigmatism, so my distance vision is crap in terms of sharp focus). I've been shooting in AF.C, but I don't know? I'm new to the K-3, I recently upgraded from the K-r, which didn't have quite so many options!

Advice is always welcome! Thanks!

04-23-2017, 08:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Take a look at this post
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/344772-case-sup...entax-af.html+
04-23-2017, 09:14 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sel-9 is a good option in my opinion, as it balances point automation with speed.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-23-2017, 09:18 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I suggest 1/400 is not fast enough for horses etc. So it may be motion blur you are seeing rather than bad focus. Try 1/800 or 1/1000 to see if it makes a difference, and iterate from there.