Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2018, 03:01 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K3 vs A6500, to switch or not to switch

Hi,
I've been shooting Pentax for 4 years now and I love the K3, but now that I have 1,5 kids I'm thinking about Sony A6500 for its eye-focus and light weight, the K3 is perfect for low pace shooting but i'm having bad time following my kid and keep focus pin-point to her eyes
Have anyone try the A6500 and how is it compared to the K3 ? any downside that i should be aware of ?
Thanks in advance for any inputs

03-27-2018, 03:18 AM - 9 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Dump the money into the college fund for your kids and make do with the K-3
03-27-2018, 05:05 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

I think you want some photos of the kids running around, but I think they would rather you put the camera away and play with them.

On the other hand, not sure which lens you are trying to use, some follow much better than others.
03-27-2018, 05:28 AM - 1 Like   #4

I gave my wife the Sony 6300 for Christmas, I shoot with a K-3. The Sony is a very nice camera and it is much smaller and lighter. My kids are 20 and 16, so I don't have to case them around to photograph them any more, but I can see the advantages of a light, mirrorless camera. I think the single biggest draw back on Sony is the cost of the lenses for them. Once you move away from the consumer/kit lenses, they are very pricy. Do you feel like you are missing shots with the K-3?

03-27-2018, 06:03 AM - 2 Likes   #5
Pentaxian

I don't need to photo children moving around and I don't know the A6500, but I used to have the A6000. I exchanged it for a second Pentax DSLR. Although the Pentax are bigger and heavier, I simply find the controls, ergonomics, and balance of the Pentax bodies (K-3 and K-70) so much more pleasurable to use.

Cheers.
Philip
03-27-2018, 07:24 AM - 2 Likes   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums