Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-18-2018, 07:22 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax k-3 and Sigma 70-200 live view

Hi folks.

I recently purchased an used K-3 silver, and having some issues with mine Sigma macro 70-200 HSM II.

I'm a seasoned photographer and had extensively used that lens with a Pentax K-5II in photojournalism, with no problem whatsoever.

But with K-3 In live view, the camera won't focus precisely. The camera does AF, everything appears sharp in the monitor before the capture, but the picture is blured.
Focus in phase detect is fine. Just the live view is having issues.
One thing I did noticed, however, is that the lens/camera does stop down to search for focus. This is a different behavior from the K-5II i have, wich focus fine in live view.

Is there some thing I can do? Adjustment, configuration, service?

Thank's guys.

Last edited by sungibr; 06-18-2018 at 09:33 AM.
06-18-2018, 07:54 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Your lens probably needs a firmware update- and this can be done only in service centre. This problem seems common with first generation of this lens(the one with rubber mesh finnish) but also with later model early production runs. You should also check if your camera firmware is up to date.
06-18-2018, 09:39 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Reed Quote
Your lens probably needs a firmware update- and this can be done only in service centre. This problem seems common with first generation of this lens(the one with rubber mesh finnish) but also with later model early production runs. You should also check if your camera firmware is up to date.
Thank you for you reply.

Firmware on camera is up to date.