Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2020, 11:22 AM   #1

Beginner help -- choosing lenses for K-3

Hello All,

I am a beginner photographer (however, I feel like I have a good eye -- I love doing graphic design, etc.). I have been using a Nikon Coolpix B500, but finally convinced my husband to let me buy a DSLR. After much research, I bought a Pentax K-3 (used body in "excellent+" condition from KEH). I can't wait to try it out, but I obviously need some lens(es). Based on the research I did, I chose not to get a kit and instead bought a body separately from the lenses. I thought I knew what lenses I wanted to get, but now I'm second-guessing everything--there are SO many options! So, if you were in my shoes, what lenses would you buy??

Here is what I plan to photograph:
-- My kids (this is the primary purpose for buying a dslr) -- ages 2 and under right now. Both indoor and outdoor -- everyday life, special occasions, etc. I was planning to get a 50mm 1.8 prime lens, but some people say this can be a little tight indoors??
-- Also, family portraits (most likely using a tripod and remote control).
-- Wildlife in our yard. We have lots of deer (especially a beautiful albino) foxes, raccoons, birds, etc. that frequent our yard. The furthest I usually need to be able to shoot is about 150 feet away.
-- Sporting events. Specifically, we have a Pinewood Derby race (in a gymnasium) coming up that I need to take photos for. Also, sporting events as our kids get older.

Most importantly, my budget is a firm $350 for lenses! What lens or lenses would you buy?? I am happy to buy quality used lenses, so feel free to suggest lenses that may be out of my price range when new.

Thanks in advance!

03-06-2020, 11:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Unregistered User

QuoteOriginally posted by flute215 Quote
Hello All,