Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2020, 07:49 AM   #1

K3 II shutter release port issue

The other night I was out with my camera and telescope to shot some nebula. While I was swapping out a filter, I dropped the camera body about 18" to the ground. The camera appears fine, but it appears to have landed on the shutter release cable I had plugged in. Now, there is no "bite" when I try to plug in the cable and it obviously doesn't respond when I press the release on the remote. Is there an easy way to fix this? I would prefer to not have to send my camera in for repairs for something as "simple" as a dislocated connector port. That said, I would prefer even less to break my camera. I do feel comfortable working on electronics as I am a network systems engineer and no stranger to that. However, I have never disassembled a camera before. I tried to find diagrams of the camera body, but I guess that is too "sensitive" for them to release to the general public. Gotta protect that IP. Anyway, if anyone can help, that would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise, I guess I will have to suck it up and spend $300 to get it fixed by Ricoh's vendor.

Thanks in advance

05-13-2020, 09:27 AM   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by deathtical Quote