Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
10-30-2014, 09:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Gear Advice. Tree month trip to Europe. What gear to take.

In 10 days I`ll be leaving to Italy, then Croacia, Rumania, Turkey, Budapest, Poland, Germany, France, perhaps spain and back. (I am not sure if I`ll on all those places, how long, etc.). Returning on January for a total of 3 months. Besides seeing the great cities, I really like trekking so I will hike some mountains every time I can. I know it will be winter but I have some experience in those conditions. I am going "Couch surfing" so also taking a sleeping bag and pad.
I am trying to go "Ultralite". I got a 70 liter, 900grams backpack, a pair of light boots, clothing, sleeping bag and pad, and that`s it. Being able to buy the cheap plain tickets that just allow carry on (less than 10Kg pack) would be awesome...

Now, to the photographic dilema:
I tihnk carrying a DSLR is too much for this kind of trip. It`s difficult to take care of it all the time, lug it arround, carry all the other stuff (chargers, batterys, memory card, backup disk, cleaning kit) and it also is a barrier between me and the people I`ll met (although a friend from Poland told me it`s very common for people to carry DSLRs arround in most of Europe).
- So I am thinking of taking just the compact MX-1. It`s good enough, like the controls, light.
- But then I also thought of taking a lightweight film SLR with the DA40xs (ZX-60, -L , -7 can all control de aperture from the body) along the MX-1.
- Also considering I could take the Sigma DP2 Merrill instead of the film SLR...
- I bought a 600grs tripod from Vanguard (Yes, I bought the pink one because it was cheaper)

My great fear is being in a time and place where I can`t help but think "S@it, I sould have brought the big camera". If you have some good advice (not only about the photo gear) it would be welcome.