Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 19 Likes Search this Thread
11-05-2014, 09:47 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Group photo tips?

Hi all,

I'm hoping those of you who have experience with taking group photos can maybe give me some advice or tips.

I've been asked by my Dad to take some photos next week at his sawmill. He wants some group photos of the guys that work there to use as company Christmas cards. He wants the photos taken outside at the sawmill. I've arranged to do the shoot between 8:30-9:00am next Tuesday.

Problem is, I've never done this before. I'm more of a landscape/cat/nature photographer! So, any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Any things I should definitely do or NOT do?

I believe he wants some shots of several different groups of around 8 or so. And then he also wants one large group photo. I'm not sure of the count, but I believe that would be around 30 folks for the large group shot. I was thinking a ladder might be useful for the large group shot in order to get more people in a smaller space and not be too far away from them. What do you think?

The mill is not the most attractive place, so i'm having trouble deciding where they should pose. Hopefully, he will have some ideas about that. I suppose they can always just gather around the sign in the front.

Thanks very much for your input!

11-05-2014, 10:10 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

A few simple things:

-Sun to your back.
-Be mindful of the background; pick something not too busy. A flat wall or an open sky are better than
a busy parking lot or construction site.
-Get in tight. Unless there's specific need to highlight where and why the group is gathered, you want
to eliminate as much of the surrounding scene as possible.
-Get in tighter. Try composing full body shots. But also compose a few bust groupings as well.
-Stagger your group into rows rather than having everyone in a line. Will help to get in tight.