Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-23-2014, 08:14 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Would you use a new site for photo exploration?

Hi Pentax users,

I'm a longtime Pentax photographer and PentaxForums.com user. I love photography, and I've become disappointed by the available photo sharing/exploration sites. I just don't feel like the current offerings meet my needs.

So I'm building a new one. I know, I must be crazy. But I'm doing it. I really want something with great, minimalistic design, some whitespace to let photos breathe, and keyboard/swipe navigation to 1) see more photos by a user or 2) see other users.

My gripes with the current offerings are as follows:
1) flickr - the obvious heavyweight. It's just become a crowded, photos-jammed-next-to photos experience. There is no whitespace, pretty much anywhere on the site. Also, it seems to be heading towards "dump every photo ever here," and less "interact with others over photos." The groups are a lot of fun.
2) instagram - probably my favorite, but people mostly follow each other for social reasons, not for aesthetic/photography reasons. You can't really explore photographic techniques or cameras, mostly just seeing what photographers are up to.
3) tumblr - the reblogging concept is interesting, but photos aren't really linked to each other. In other words, you aren't exploring photos, per se, more exploring bloggers (or rebloggers)
4) 500px - I'm not a fan of their algorithms for choosing "good" photos. The community there is a bit processing-heavy, and there isn't too much room for niche taste on the site. I just don't have much fun there.
5) forums like this one - they're great for discussion on lots of topics, and the "share your photos!" threads are fun. But they are not really set up as networks for photo exploration.

So what are your thoughts? What do you think of the current photo site offerings? Are there other sites you use? Would you use a new site?