Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-03-2014, 12:42 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
From M to Av to P: The Wonders of Hyper-Program Mode

I thought that, since I do not see any, I would start a thread praising Pentax's handy Hyper-Program mode.

I started learning photography with fully manual film cameras which taught me much about light and exposure. But when I switched to digital, I found myself migrating to aperture priority much more because it was quicker and more convenient.

For years I have had all my cameras (with the functionality) locked to Av mode. I would view the scene, visualize the distance to the subject and my choice for depth of field, then set the appropriate aperture. Of course, scenes would occasionally necessitated the use of Tv or even M, but Av best fit my style of photography.

Then something happened: I looked at the mode dial on my K-5IIs, depressed the locking mechanism, and turned it to P.

Now, I have always known about using the green button for program shift in Av, Tv, and M modes, but I never cared to take the time to explore P mode. I suppose I had always figured that I, being the photographer, must be in control; that if I were to trust the camera too much, I may as well be using my phone to take pictures. But my curiosity got the best of me.

As I looked through the viewfinder with my camera set to P, I got a hint of the surprisingly intelligent exposure choices the camera made, which were often not too unlike my own. I was impressed, but I was not expecting what would happen next.

By force of habit, I turned the real dial of the body and something happened: a line appeared under the f-stop and the value changed accordingly! I had just discovered Hyper-Program! It even worked with the time value as well. And what's more is a simple press of the green button shifted the values back to the program line!