Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
02-12-2015, 09:38 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Not so excited about photography anymore?

Hey!
I've had photography as my main hobby for about 6 years. A year and a half ago, though, i started playing guitar, and i've already collected a bunch of gear. My girlfriend brought to my attention something that i had already noticed : i haven't been so excited about photography anymore. I still like the idea of taking photos, but i used to spend hours and hours everyday going through my old shots, editing them and all. Now i kind of lost that. I wanna try to get it back, and i believe that maybe changing my kit would help me with that.
Anyone out there experienced the same as me? I'm thinking about getting perhaps a M4/3 camera with some top-notch lenses instead of having a bunch of average and some top-notch lenses.
Well, anything you have to say would be helpful.
Thanks!

02-12-2015, 09:57 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Go through your old photos. It will remind you of everything you ever liked about photography.
02-12-2015, 09:57 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

There's only so much time and energy in life for hobbies. If music is now dominating your hobby time, there's no shame in that. Not sure why a change in camera gear would matter necessarily. Is there some gear-related reason why you moved away from photography?
02-12-2015, 09:58 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

You experience is so very common with not only photography but with countless hobbies such as sports, food, music, vehicles and so on. We all change over the years and it's healthy to keep in touch with where you were and where you are going.
Re: photography, stay with the energy of taking photos by getting yourself a nice rangefinder that has a fixed lens. And then just shoot jpegs and enjoy your shots. Photography is not gear.