Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-20-2015, 11:43 AM   #1

Outside photography

I'm kinda new to photography ish I mean it's the first time I've used DSLR, I can get good light covering in doors but outdoors is another issue, I'm trying not to use the auto setting but more to use manually but I can seem to get the bal right between the aperture and shutter speed.
Can any body help or point towards a good handy aid

Cheers Steve

07-20-2015, 12:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

The hard part isn't getting the right light on the subject, its getting the right light across the frame.

For example if I take a picture of a person they might be lit fairly decently, but the background or other things might be completely blown out.

Finding that balance is the key.

As for general stuff though it all depends on how your camera is set up for metering. I use the center spot and I will move the camera around to see if other stuff is over or under exposed.

I shoot only in manual mode though. If you use the modes it can actually make things more complicated.
Check your camera and see what kind of metering mode you are in. Also depending on the camera you have...I know I've had a few Pentax cameras and all of them have a built in light meter.
07-20-2015, 12:20 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by steven.g.sellars Quote
I'm kinda new to photography ish I mean it's the first time I've used DSLR, I can get good light covering in doors but outdoors is another issue, I'm trying not to use the auto setting but more to use manually but I can seem to get the bal right between the aperture and shutter speed.
Can any body help or point towards a good handy aid

Cheers Steve
What is the actual problem you are having? What do you mean you can't get the "balance" right?
07-20-2015, 12:34 PM   #4

Original Poster
It's always comes out over exposed like a bright Amber in colour

07-20-2015, 12:42 PM - 1 Like   #5