Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-18-2015, 03:50 PM   #1
Pentaxian

I tried to support my local camera store(s)

I'm still relatively new to my DA 15 and wanted to add an 8 or 10 stop ND filter.

Camera store 1: The only 49mm ND filter they had was a variable ND. Some knockoff brand name. Would it have a color cast? Would it vignette? I was going to test before buying it, but then I noticed it won't even fit on the DA 15 due to the sliding hood. They offered to order a different filter if I knew what I wanted but that would require a return visit to the store to pick it up.

Camera store 2: All they had was a Vivitar pack of UV, CPL, and 4-stop ND. Total cost for all three was $9.95 (not a pricing error, less than $3.33 per filter). I like a bargain as much as anyone but at that price the quality can't be good. I didn't even bother testing in-store because 4 stops are not enough. Store advised me to check Amazon when I got home.

I just wanted to support the local guys a bit, but I keep striking out whenever I visit those stores for accessories (they don't stock Pentax so I can't get lenses or bodies there).

10-18-2015, 03:53 PM   #2
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Well, at least you have a local camera store! The two that were here, closed years ago.
10-18-2015, 04:00 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Sounds like my local store. I bought a variable nd and it had weird dark spots in the image. The guy looked at me like I was retarded when I returned it. It was some off brand as well. I never go in there anymore unless I need like a lens cloth. Though their main store does stock pentax but it's not the one near me.
10-18-2015, 04:11 PM   #4

The last store nearby started specializing in Olympus and had a 400+% markup on memory cards and other things compared to amazon, b&h, adorama.