Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
02-29-2016, 07:20 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Theory about time vs. results trade off

I have a theory, and this may seem totally obvious to most people but I'm just getting around to accepting it.

You see, I am a full time student and I have job as well as a wife and daughter so I don't get a lot of time to go out and do something as selfish as my photography. When I do, I am usually under time constraints and often times don't take very much time setting up my shots, etc, etc. Nor am I able to go to cool places or go exploring very often, and my favorite type of photography is nature and landscape.

Anyway, I am rarely satisfied with my results and I know that it takes time to really be good at this, but I'm starting to wonder if I don't get satisfaction out of my shots because I just don't put enough time into it. I mean, what photographer can spend only a couple hours every other week with his camera without doing much traveling, etc, and come out with great stuff on a regular basis? Maybe there is someone here who can prove me wrong, but the only stuff I find around my house that would only take a minute to shoot is subject material for macro shots, really, and certainly not during the winter (all the little critters are hiding).

Anyway, I wonder how much I can expect my photography to improve when I'm done with school, or when I'm retired even. I bet someone here can tell me how it was for them.

Thanks all!

02-29-2016, 07:37 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Life is busy, and hobbies get us out of the "busy-ness" for a short while. That's their value! It might be stamp collecting, skeet shooting, woodworking, competitive ping-pong, or quilting. Heck, for some lucky folks, their hobby is cooking, in which case everyone loves it when they "practice!"