Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2016, 03:08 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Teaching A Yearbook Class This Year And I Would Love Your Help

Hello everyone,

I'm teaching a Yearbook class this year at my high school (I'm a teacher there already) and I'm pretty excited about this. My biggest challenge is that there is no curriculum for the class and definitely not enough equipment. I've got two Nikon D5100's and kit lenses (18-55 and 55-300) at my disposal to teach 30+ kids how to shoot and design a Yearbook. The software used to design the Yearbook is pretty much just drag and drop so the layout aspect is pretty simple and I'm not really concerned about that.

I decided that one of the things I would do is to take advantage of the lack of curriculum and turn this into a Yearbook/Photography class. When I proposed this idea to the students, they were really excited about the possibility of learning real photography. The previous teacher knew nothing about technology or photography so the class kind of defaulted to a "hang out" class. The kids really seem to be looking forward to it. The question now is, how to do the class and opportunity justice? Due to the lack of cameras, I know that teaching them camera technique will have to be theory based most of the time; however, I am able to cheat a bit because they all have cell phones which mean they all have a camera too. I guess that limits me somewhat to teaching them at the 28ish mm focal length which is actually great because I really feel like that is my biggest weakness and I get a year to work on it!

My questions are: