Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2016, 06:05 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sturdy tripod

I now own a Sunpak Ultra 7000TM and it has worked fine when used with my K-01, K30 and K50 with small zooms or prime lenses. I attached my K3 with battery grip and Tamron 70-200 to fine adjust the auto focus and it was not very sturdy. I would not want to attempt using it out in the field. I am just a hobby photographer and don't need a professional tripod, just a better made sturdy one that will secure my camera and lens. Any suggestion's?

08-27-2016, 06:10 AM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi Kim, do you have a maximum $ figure to spend?
08-27-2016, 06:19 AM   #3
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

a good used Manfrotto/Bogen 3021BN should fill the bill and not break the bank....
08-27-2016, 06:33 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I find Manfrotto offer a good balance in cost/quality.

08-27-2016, 07:46 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by pepperberry farm Quote
a good used Manfrotto/Bogen 3021BN should fill the bill and not break the bank....
I can second that. I have vs very old copy still in use.

---------- Post added 08-27-16 at 10:48 AM ----------

I also like the old tiltall. The tiltall is nice if you like pan and tilt heads.
08-27-2016, 07:53 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For me tripods come in 3 broad categories:
1. el cheapo: aluminum lightweights with plastic heads.
2. Middle of the road: consumer to prosumer aluminum and some cheaper carbon fibre tripods with detachable heads so you can put on a ball head or pan and tilt or whatever. A decent one of these from whichever brand will serve the purpose for 90% of circumstances IMO. There is plenty of online advice inc here to fine tune the choice according to features, weight, height etc etc.