Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 70 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2016, 04:14 PM   #76
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I went to Smithville yesterday morning, a neighboring town, to pick up a 'cone holder' thread doohickey for my sewing machine and to have coffee at a local bakery place on the town square. What I walked up on was a Photography Fair. Huh? Really? For $15 free classes till 3:00 pm. And little shoot sets and live models dressed in all manner of costumes. Well, I had coffee with my friends and then joined in the fun. In one class the pet model was not cooperating. Lol, really what did they expect, Blue Heeler, 15 people, stuff pointed at it, so as they were exchanging pets, this younger photographer notices that I had walked in after the class had started. But he thought I was a total newb. I didn't tell him any different, but he said, "Have you tried your speed light in here" at which I told him "No, I don't see anyone else using one and did not know if they thought lots of flash would upset the pets" at that he said maybe I was right, but they had been using ambient light which really wasn't enough and they could of opened a curtain. But during the pet exchanging he took my camera, he was quite adept at figuring out different systems it seems, and demonstrated for me how to bounce the flash off all the surfaces in the room. I must say he got amazing results. Considering how large the room was and how high the ceiling was in the old building. So even if it wasn't what I walked in there for or part of the class, young Canon dude demonstrated some techniques that I had not practiced and will now, but it was because he offered and just did it and I wasn't too 'high faluten' to listen.

---------- Post added 10-09-16 at 06:19 PM ----------