Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
01-01-2017, 12:36 PM   #1
Veteran Member

shooting portrait issues

this isn't a technical issue, so i'm not really asking for assistance with gear.
what i'm looking for is tips and techniques to make a very specific gender happy.
as i take more and more pics of people (i used to be a landscape photographer), i'm finding it consistently that if i take a picture of a male subject, regardless of his age, one pic/click and i'm happy, as is the subject.

yet, when i take pics of a female aged between teen-60ish, i can NEVER seem to get it right....EVER! case in point:
*takes picture*
subject: no, thats not my good side
*takes picture from the other side*
subject: no i'm not smiling
*takes picture with her smiling*
subject: no, i look fat
*takes picture with a higher angle*
subject: no, i look dark
*takes picture again with different setting
subject: no, i look old
*starts hating the process and quits

i'm finding taking picture of children, or older women (ie, my grandma) seems to photograph really well. even in post process, if i enhance the wrinkles, they dont mind it. yet teen to 60ish aged women im really hating to photograph due to their insecurities.

at the same time, i'm also hating taking pics of women in that age group due to the 'kardashian effect'. i'm not hating on make up, but it gets irritating when they all start contouring to enhance their cheek bones and start looking very similar to one another; ie - kardashians...

how are you folks not coming across this? i've seen some awesome portraits of women being represented perfectly that are also in that age group...what am i doing wrong? (aside from taking pics of professional models) is it, perhaps a cultural thing? i am from the south asian culture, thus a lot of my friends/family/network is usually from the asian continent

:S