Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-12-2017, 01:43 PM   #1
Veteran Member

My favorite bitch about modern digital cameras - ergonomics.

Take a look - he sums it up better than I could.
BTW - so far as I'm concerned this video was not about the particular cameras mentioned they were just examples.
I have no experience or opinion about the X-T2 one way or the other.
It's worth a look.

Last edited by wildman; 06-12-2017 at 01:54 PM.
06-12-2017, 02:31 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by wildman Quote
Take a look - he sums it up better than I could.
BTW - so far as I'm concerned this video was not about the particular cameras mentioned they were just examples.
I have no experience or opinion about the X-T2 one way or the other.
It's worth a look.

Fujifilm X-T2 :: design which BLOWS EVERY CAMERA AWAY - YouTube
I agree with his point, but there are few counterpoints I'd add.

a) If the user experience and design is essential, are there photographers that actually prefer an EVF over an OVF? The electronic viewfinder is what has kept me away from mirrorless and loyal to DSLRs.

b) I have owned two Nikon F3HP since 1986. The A or AV mode on it was not the amazing deal. The ergonomics that he doesn't mention include:
-Ratcheting film advance lever that is as smooth as silk,
-Shutter speed dial that can be reached and turned with just your right index finger sans thumb
-All manual shutter release if your batteries die.
-High point viewfinder that shows you 100% of the image, even with eyeglasses on.
-A built-in shutter for the viewfinder for long unmanned exposures on a tripod.
-T mode which acts like Bulb but doesn't require holding down the shutter release and does not use power
-The sound of the the mirror slap and focal plane shutter had a build quality like a luxury car door closing. Solid and satisfying.