Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2017, 07:01 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
On Crowd Candids & Etiquette OR How to Not Aggravate a Stranger

I'm sure this has been hashed out before here. And I'm sure there's other things written about this all over the Internet, in books, and so on. But since the whole point of this forum is that we can have discussion and more direct interaction, I wanted to ask the fine folks here at PentaxForums how they handle shooting candid shots in crowds where you're just there to get good pictures.

Background: I'm a hobbyist and I doubt I will sell a photo from this in any way/shape/form. I mostly just want to get out and get more experience shooting street candids. I have a K-5II that I intend to use for this and a few fast primes. If this kind of thing goes well I may try for a more concealed setup but right now I'm either going with a messenger style camera bag or possible a backpack.

Event: A large political march coming up in a couple months here on the east coast. I don't want to say more because I feel like it would ruin the surprise but it's with a generally peaceful bunch. Expecting 20k, minimum, to show up. I am not part of that group and am going to see the march and maybe walk with the folks but I'm not getting terribly involved. It's also a nice chance to see my sister.